Time, no changes!

Web shot of Time, no changes - the welcome page shows three different Fake books which guides the visitor to the next step.

Web shot of Time, no changes

“Time, no changes” is a digital learning resource I made during spring 2009. I have made a website which aims at providing the learner with various information on Herbie Hancock and his music, which ultimatly leads to a guide through of Hancock¨s piece “Cantaloupe island” including a play-a-long track.

The learning material includes music clips of his music spanning from the early sixties to his latest releases. I have transcribed the oroginal trumpet solo of Freddie Hubbard and posted it on the site as a pdf document in the keys Bb and C. This particular solo, which is fairly true to the link between chords and scalematerial, should provide a good example of how music theory in terms of scales are put into musical practice.

An embedded video demonstrates the sound of scales put to work along with the relevand chord changes.

An embedded video demonstrates the sound of scales put to work along with the relevand chord changes.

I have added a video clip of myself playing through a selection of scales, accompanied by a play along track I prepared in Ableton LIVE. I have added annotations to the video on which chord / scale I am using at any moment.

Finaly, the play along track is there for the student to use as accompagnement for his/her own playing.   

Visit “Time, no changes” by clicking here!

Ø. Kvinge

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *